Ragopedia V.I - Raga Chapter

Ragopedia Cover Illustration

Introductory Sections

Essential Features of a Raga

The eleven main features of Ragaas recognized in present day North Indian Music are:

  • Thaat - Modal Foundation
  • Arohi and Avrohi - Ascending and Descending Movements
  • Varjit - Avoided or Omitted Notes
  • Jati - Tonal Classification
  • Vadi/Samvadi/Anuvadi/Vivadi - Notes
  • Pakar - Cognitive Phrase
  • Nyasa - Cadence Note
  • Poorvang and Uttarang - Lower and Upper Regions of the Octave
  • Time of Play
  • Tirobhav and Avirbhav - Melodic Deviations
  • Rasa - Moods
  • To order a copy of the Ragopedia book please click here

    Picture of Logo

    HOME | Batish Institute Archives | Musical Instruments For Sale | Ragopedia Vol. 1 | Indian Music Bibliography | Chalan Project | RagaNet E-Zine | Indian Music Glossary | S. D Batish | Ashwin Batish | New Releases | Upcoming Concerts | Catalog | Guru-Shishya Database | World Links | Midi Pandit | Classified Ads | Batish Recording Service

    email: info [at] batish.com

    copyright 1995, 1996, 1997 Batish Institute. All rights reserved. Intended For Personal Use Only. No part of the information here may be reproduced or utilized in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying and recording, or by any information and storage retrieval system, without specific written permission from the Batish family.